FAQ of Rotterdam

The ins and outs of the boardgame Rotterdam can easily be understood. However, there might be some FAQs left, mainly on the use of the shipping cards. In that case, the FAQs below will help you.
	Shipping cards

	Question
	Answer

	Can you play a shipping card at any moment in the game?
	No, only when it is your turn.

	Are you allowed to play more than one shipping card when it is your turn?
	Yes. It can be very interesting to make tactical use of a combination of your shipping cards. For example, Freight Robbery and Inspection Sea Harbour Police are a good combination.

	When you have 3 unused shipping cards in your possession, are you allowed to receive any more?
	No, you are not allowed to keep more than 3 shipping cards unused – if you want a new one, you should have used the card(s) earlier in the game.

	 

	Advantage

	Question
	Answer

	Can you keep the advantage card covered until the end of the game?
	Yes, you can. It can be wise, however, to uncover the card sooner. For example, when you already have 3 shipping cards in your possession and you keep them covered, you cannot get a new one.

	Do you have to save up to 3 shipping cards before you are allowed to uncover an Advantage or Extra Advantage card?
	No, you don’t have to. You can uncover the Advantage cards sooner, so that you can receive new shipping cards.

	 

	Change your luck

	Question
	Answer

	Can you use this shipping card on a ship without cargo?
	No, you need two ships with cargo in order to be able to exchange raw materials.

	 

	Heavy storm

	Question
	Answer

	A player wants to use the heavy storm shipping card to move back two steps, but he has to pass another ship. Is that allowed?
	No, the other ship is blocking you.

	 

	Placing the ships

	Question
	Answer

	Do you have to place a ship everytime it is your turn?
	No, you don’t have to.

	 

	Loading raw materials

	Question
	Answer

	Do you always have to load raw materials on a newly placed ship?
	No, you don’t have to.

	 

	Swapping product cards

	Question
	Answer

	In game phase 5 you can swap product cards with other players. Are you also allowed to swap cargo or other cards?
	No, this is not allowed. Only product cards can be swapped.

	Can you swap one product card for any number of product cards for another player?
	Yes. Players can swap product cards as they see fit. It is their own decision and the deal can even be done by swapping closed product cards.

	 

	Winning the game

	Question
	Answer

	Can you be the winner of Rotterdam even if you are not the first to have earned 12 victory points?
	Yes, that is possible. Before a winner is declared, all players count their victory points (earned by completing assignments as well as the collected product cards and shipping cards with advantage or extra advantage).


 

